Good Morning

August 26, 2009

This morning we slept in until 7:00 a.m.. For some reason Jonah didn’t wake up at his usual 6:30 a.m. time and Mark didn’t wake up at 5:30 a.m. being tired because he had been awake during the night with back pain (his leg wound is healing well btw, it started to look infected but we started putting charcoal poultices on it regularly and prayed a lot). I woke up to tiny taps on our glass window. Looking closer, I saw that it was a hummingbird trying to sip nector from our faded chintz curtains. Some of the birds that look like hummingbirds are very large here, maybe the size of a robin with long thin beaks. I don’t know if they actually are hummingbirds. The other day a bird like this was trying to sip nectar from a red sweatshirt hanging on the clothes line. Jonah woke up. “Mommy, I don’t feel very well” he said.  I went in to investigate. He said his waist hurt, probably because he had worn his belt to tight the day before, he suggested. I felt his abdomen, discovering his bladder was distended and took him downstairs to remedy the situation. What a relief that it was something simple.  All being well, I took him back up stairs to bounce on his sleeping Father. “Daddy, he said I put my “tancocks” in, did you put in yours, Daddy?” “Your what?” Mark replied. “My “tancocks”, Jonah replied, pointing to his eyes. It was good for a laugh. Laughing is good in the morning.

Leave a Reply

