Curious George

September 15, 2009

One morning as I was combing out my wet hair in front of the sink Jonah walked in asking if there were anymore Curious George books. He had been looking at “Curious George Rides a Bike” one of his favorite books. I mumbled something about how I thought there were several more Curious George stories and Jonah replied “yes!”…. “I think there is Mom, I think there is:

Curious George and the Fire and

Curious George Goes to Heaven and

Curious George Flies with the Angels and

Curious George Drinks Tea and

Curious George and the Boat and

Curious George Sleeping and

Curious George Gets Cooked in the Oven and

Curious George Goes on a Hike and

Curious George Comes Back from Home”

At least those are the ones I can remember. I think there were more. It made me laugh. Jonah makes me smile often lately. He loves to talk and talk and talk. The other morning he crawled into bed with me to have his quiet time. Mark was gone to Addis, so I let him have quiet time in bed with me while I read the Bible. Usually, he has quiet time in his own tent. He prays and looks at Bible Story Books and sometimes I hear him making his stuffed cat pray, too. “Dear Jesus, Meow, Meow, Meow”.  This morning he had pulled his stuffed animals, pillow and blanket up onto the bed with me, spent considerable time getting settled and then quietly said “Mommy I think I am getting old and am going to die” I said “yes, most people get old and die sometime Jonah, and likely so will you, but that will be a very, very long time away… you see Mommy isn’t even old yet, you have a long way to go”. But Jonah said “No mommy, I’m getting old and am going to die now, see this spot on my arm?” He held out an arm and very seriously showed me what looked like two insect bites.

2 Responses to “Curious George”

  1. Kids are wonderful! I’m glad Jonah can bring so many smiles to your days. That’s so fun!

    By the way, if you happen to find any copies of those unique Curious George books I’d love to get my hands on them too!

  2. Jane Kurtz said

    Trudy, those are wonderful titles for furture Curious George books. Perhaps you and Jonah should make some of them come true!! What an awesome writing project–it’s called “homeschool” or in Jonah’s case, “college”!!

Leave a Reply

